Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

All Hail the DS!!!!

I used to be one of those people that said…

I’ll never do that with my kid!

Then I became a mom…

The lesson is, you really can’t predict what you will or won’t do until you are actually in that position or situation.

Here is one example:

I was never going to give my child a pacifier… my reason’s were my own. I believed it would interfere with breastfeeding or ruin his teeth,  I worried that he would get too attached and it would be too hard to get him to give it up, and I was afraid that I would abuse the power of the pacifier.

See how well that worked out:

Leon chillin' at the beach - 6 months old

Leon chillin' at the beach - 6 mon. old

Leon had breast milk till 7 months, his teeth are fine, he did get attached to it for a bit longer than I had originally planned – but so what, and yes – I did abuse the power of the pacifier.
Cranky day? = Put a plug in it.
Too loud at church, screaming in the grocery ailse? = Activate the mute button.
Not feeling good? = Here, the Schnully makes it all better!
The pacifier, pacified him, kept him quiet, and comforted him.
What more could a mom ask for?
Another example:
I was never… going to join the masses and get my child a handheld computer game, just so he could retreat into a corner and be consumed in his game and be all anti-social and stuff. It is hard enough to limit screen time between the TV and the computer. Why would I want to battle with one that can go anywhere, anytime?  The me I want to be, wants to limit screen time to under 2 hours a day. The me that I am… well, let’s just say it doesn’t always work out that way. We do limit his time, and we let him earn extra time occasionally, but there are plenty of times that the TV or computer was is used to keep him quiet, pacify him, and babysit him while I got  get stuff done around the house. I justified it with, we only let him watch carefully picked DVDs and shows with some educational value (ie.  Baby Bumble Bee Vocabulary Builder or shows like Dora the Explorer vs. the likes of Spongebob), heck he didn’t even see any commercials because we choose commercial free stations, and on the computer, he only played games that he could learn from. 
….Then I bought him his first handheld. It was a Leapster L-Max, an educational handheld computer learning system with game cartridges that can plug into the TV or be portable. For me the justification was, he is learning and we never let him take it anywhere except for on a plane ride.  I looved that thing, he really did learn from it. Annnnd maybe I did let him take it out every once in a while, say ….. to the doctors office, or while grocery shopping. 
 
Okay so it’s present day now…  give or take about a month- okay so I am actually talking about Nov ’08…..
Being almost 6 years old and in first grade, Leon has been exposed to alot more media now. We’ve started letting him watch more “bigger kid” shows on regular channels, exposing him to the wonderful world of commercials which he can recite word for word to me ( It’s quite embarrassing when we are shopping and he picks up a box of Always Pads and asks me if I know how absorbent they are?) In school, his friends discuss superheros and bad guys, Power Rangers, Spongebob, Ninja Turtles, weapons, etc… They mimic the characters they see on TV. They pretend to shoot and kill each other ( i just lovethat!=sarcasm). They watch movies during recess on rainy days that gave him nightmares. ( I LOOOVE Disney, but some of their movies are down right SCARY! – ever see “Snow White” or “Meet the Robinsons“?). They talk about their Nintendo DS and the games they play. Leon returns from every play datebegging for one. When we took him to Karate he plants himself next to the nearest zombie playing Mario Brothers or Spore Creatures until it was time for class to start.
And then there was the upcoming Disney World trip with a hyper-active, impulsive, ADHD child who could completely loose it if made to wait in really long lines. I decided to give in and get him a handheld that we could use to keep him occupied while on the long lines.  I wanted to get him the Leapfrog Didj. It’s a Leapfrog, it is compact, it is educational, and it has this awesome feature that allows the parent to plug the handheld into a computer and create custom questions in spelling and math to help the child study for next week’s test. Sounds great doesn’t it? Well, I wouldn’t know, I tried to convince Leon to put the Didj on his wishlist. He was not having it. But “Mooooom, everyone else has a DS, and besides, I don’t even know how to play a Didj”. In the end Ron and I decided that maybe it was best to follow the herd and get him the DS after all. It was a decision in the favor of developing him socially as opposed to educationally.

Present Day…

Leon is very, very, happy with his DS. We use it as a reward for good behavior, and doing chores, we use it as leverage when we need him to comply with us, we use it to keep him occupied when we need to get stuff done, we use it soothe him after a rough day at school. Basically it is our new pacifier!  It keeps him pacified, keeps him quiet, and comforts him.

 What more can a mom ask for? Except to borrow it when he’s not using it.
All Hail The DS!
……. and now he wants an XBox and a Wii
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “All Hail the DS!!!!

  1. Love that picture of Leon – that’s too cute!

    I know exactly what you mean about trying to limit everything. No matter how careful you are, there are other parents who don’t care or don’t share your beliefs. Corbin’s already out shooting people or cutting body parts off because the boys on our street are older and some of their parents obviously don’t share the same moral standards that I have. To each their own but my rules apply at my house and the other kids are learning that. Thankfully Corbin’s still brave enough to let the others know the rules and that they’re making bad choices – it doesn’t stop him from making the choices but he’s quick to point out when the others are! 🙂

  2. Loved the story, quite funny and entertaining. Glad to see you made it to the world of video games.
    In my house I was always the video monster. I have been playing games since the arcades and have been hooked ever since.

    They really do pacify and take your mind off of a lot of stuff. Sometimes I just feel so overloaded and playing games helps me to relax, and wind down.
    Instead of the kids converting me I was the monster that converted them and my grand children also.

    I am 47 years old and would be lost without my pacifier. If you do get a Wii buy The Legend Of Zelda Twilight Princess. It is one awesome pacifier.

    • Last year my 5 year old managed to save over $100 by collecting cans for Disney World. Now he is saving for a Wii. Ron & I will kick in the rest at the end of the year and it will be our family’s gift to ourselves. If I did not need a new camera, I would be asking for my own DS for my birthday! but perhaps it’s better this way or i would NEVER get anything done.

Leave a Reply

