Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

The thing about hospitals….

…is they really suck.

I spent ALL FREAKIN’ DAY in the ER yesterday, and it really sucked!!

It was definetly NOT my idea to go to the hospital. I hate hospitals, they totally skeeve me out and the always take forever.

I went in reluctantly under my doctors orders. I had started to feel sick last Sunday, just before Ron, Leon and I had met with my mother for my birthday dinner at the hibachi restaurant. I felt dizzy which was followed by nausea but I fought it and made it through dinner with no problems, it wasn’t until after dinner that I started to feel the dizziness and the nausea again while walking back to the car. I woke up feeling fine the next morning, but through out the day the dizziness would return every so often. Tuesday, I had bouts of nausea during the day and just occasional dizzy spells. I had also been having really bad headaches but I attributed that to the fact that I was getting my period. By Wednesday I was still nauseous and I had realized that I hadn’t had a BM in a while (4 days at this point). So I tried laxatives and prunes, but that just didn’t work. On Thursday morning after another night of tossing and turning because I was so nauseous, I woke up at 5am and started throwing up bile. I spent the rest of the day in bed feeling nauseous and still no BM but by the end of the day I wasn’t feeling so bad. Then yesterday I woke up nauseous again (and still no BM, BTW). So I called my doctor to get an appointment. I explained my symptoms to the receptionist and she made the appointment – DONE. Except that she called me back to tell me that the doctor wants me to go to the ER. “WHAT? WHY? I just want something to make me go and to take away the nausea”. My doctor strongly suggested that I needed to go to the ER so they could run the proper tests and give me a catscan, because having no BM in 6 days was cause for concern. “FINE!! I’ll go to the ER, but I am NOT happy about it”   

…hey you asked! Okay no one asked but someone would have (I think)

Here is what I don’t get about ER’s or just hospitals in general.

WHY does it take over an hour to get checked in, and then over another hour before a doctor see’s you? I know hospitals get busy and the doctors are doing their thing in the on call room (Grey’s Anatomy Fan) but there were hardly any other pateints there (yet) and I say those doctors, none of them were McDreamy or McSteamy.

WHY are those damn hospital gowns so damn small and so poorly made? Seriously, why do our butts have to hang out? I watched everyone who walked by holding thier gowns closed in the back. And it wasn’t pretty, I promise you that. And why can’t I leave my pants on under that gown? I wore sweats for a reason.

WHY is it that when the doctor does see you, and you tell him that your doctor sent you so you could get blood tests and a catscan, does he tell you that he is ordering an xray and then he’ll call your doctor instead of the other way around?

And WHY is it that you then have to wait over 2 hours to get the x-ray and the another hour to get the results back? I swear they forgot about me. At one point RN Susan comes in and asks if I had my X-ray yet??? Yeah they forgot about me… that’s what I think

Then when the doctor calls your doctor, and your doctor tells him he wants you to get a catscan, WHY  does it take forever for them to bring you the horrid contrast drink?

And WTF is up with that drink. It is torture – cruel and unusual punishment for not taking better care of your body is what that is. Why the hell hasn’t someone come up with a way to make it taste better? Did they make it taste horrible on purpose? One of the nurses told me it’s been the same for 20 years. In 20 years, no one could come up with a way to make it taste better???? Torture I tell you, it’s torture!!!!

And WHY, WHY, WHY, is it that when the doctor, not the same doctor that you started with, but a new doctor, tells you that the catscan was unremarkable (in other words they could not find anything wrong with you) and she has already authorized your discharge and she is going to call your doctor and then someone will come in to release you, does it take two hours to make that phone call and get the paperwork together so you can finally leave? Anyone???

 

Oh and last but not least, did I really just spend several hundreds of dollars at the hospital just to have them tell me that I am just constipated and get a prescription for anti-nausea medicine?   YEAH THAT SUCKS!!!

 

Oh and today I woke up nauseous and have felt like I’ve been riding the Tea Cups all day….soooo I’m thinking that maybe I’m not just full of shit after all.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The thing about hospitals….

  1. Lynn on said:

    Oh Jill! I hope you’re doing better!

Leave a Reply

