Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

It’s a GOOD DAY, it’s a good day, Hooray, Hooray!!!

Today…. a good day?

 Eh, it’s an alright day so far. I have the day off, my niece is at my mom’s for the day, Leon is in camp, and I am enjoying my day going through a bunch of photos and videos that I have taken over the past few months.

I found a bunch of gems. Most of which I will be using as evidence to prove to Leon that he is NOT having a “boring” summer after all. 😉

So, for today it is; so far, so good, although as per usual it didn’t exactly start that way….

The past week and a half has been…. well, kinda alright too, I guess….

I mean I have been having a hard time physically, given my joint pain & headaches that come with my Fibro flare-ups along with the  unexplained  dizzy spells &  nausea and some very very undesirable symptoms of really bad Acid Reflux (at least that’s what I am calling it until I hear otherwise, after my endoscope in two weeks).  And mentally I’ve been a bit messed up too, (ahh…. have you read my last post??). True I am stressed over the physical difficulties I’ve been having, but putting up with my hyperactive, disagreeable ADHD/ODD 6 year old is what has really been pushing me over the edge. Every morning, today included, is a battle. It goes something like this:

Me:  What would you like for breakfast?

Leon: What do we have?

Me: The same stuff we always have; cereal, oatmeal, waffles…

Leon: I don’t want any of that

Me: Then what do you want?

Leon: I don’t know what we have

Me: I just told you what we’ve got, if you can’t make a choice, I’ll make one for you.

Leon: I want toast with butter.

Me:  Great, what else would you like?

Leon: That’s all I want.

Me: That’s not enough you have to eat something else with it.

Leon: No I don’t, I just want toast and thats it!

Me: Do not talk to me in that tone, how about oatmeal?

Leon: I DON’T LIKE OATMEAL!

Me: TONE!

Leon: Well, I don’t!

Me: You just had it yesterday, and you liked it fine

Leon: Well I don’t like it today!

Me: Fine, How about yogurt instead.

Leon: NO!

Me: Fine, go get dressed for camp, while I make the toast, and then we will discuss what else you will have.

Leon: No, I want to eat first.

Me: Leon, You know the rules go get dressed now! 

Leon: FINE-NA!

Me: And don’t forget to wear your orange camp shirt, you have a field trip today

Leon: I don’t want to go on the field trip, I don’t even want to go to camp!

Me: Leon you are going to camp, and you are going on the field trip. It’s bowling you love bowling.

Leon: I HATE bowling! It’s boring! Everything is boring, boring, boring!!!

Me: You beg me to take you bowling all the time

Leon: But now I hate bowling (as he sits at the table)

Me: Leon go get your clothes on, we don’t sit at the breakfast table in our underwear

Leon: But I am hungry right now!

Me: Okay, and as soon as you get dressed for camp you can have your toast

Leon: But I don’t want TOAST!

Me: Leon, that’s what you asked me for!

Leon: No ooooo

Me: Leon you asked for toast and I made toast and that is what you will eat, once that is done you will have something else.

Leon: Oh yeah I forgot, well I want Oatmeal WITH my toast.

Me: GET DRESSED!

Leon: But…

Me: NOW!!! 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5…

Leon: I am, I am… STOMP STOMP STOMP SLAM!

Me:  sigh……………

Every morning is a battle with him. I say black, he says white. I say day, he says night. The first 20 minutes of each day is like a big tug-o-war! Such as it is with ODD kids. And by ODD I don’t mean odd as in strange, I mean O-D-D as in Oppositional Defiance Disorder. So along with a diagnoisis of ADHD, Leon is also diagnoised ODD. Which is not unusual, and it certainly explains ALOT! But having an answer for why he behaves the way he does doesn’t make it any easier. I wake up each morning and I brace myself for what’s coming. Once i get him off to camp i spend the rest of the morning recovering from the storm and getting ready for the next one which usually hits the moment I pick him up from camp.

Can I have a playdate? Huh? Can I? Can I? I want a playdate? What about the pool? Can we go to the pool? It’s not cold out, I’m not cold. I don’t want to go home. Why do we have to go home? And so on and so forth….

If I am having an off day, which I have been of late, this can turn ugly. So my days start out painfully difficult and end up leaving me utterly exhausted and occasionally defeated.

Not today I tell ya! Yeah, I said black and Leon said white this morning and the first 20 minutes of my day started out rough but I weathered the storm and dropped Leon off at camp and came home to relax and just do something for me.

Going through the pictures today has put things into perspective for me. Not only do they prove that Leon is NOT having a boring summer but it also proves that neither am I.

Here is a video that I took with my rinky dink point and shoot a few weeks back at a Children’s Festival that Ron, Leon, and I attended. We were watching Brady Rymer and the Little Band That Could.  The day didn’t start out so great for Leon. He was having a rough time staying focused and behaving. Every little thing seemed to trigger a meltdown.  And as usual there was alot of tug -o-war going on. But I think that one of the positive things about Leon’s ADHD is that just as quickly as he can get himself all worked up, he can also snap out of it and go on to have a good day.

I think I am going to have to watch this at least once a day. It gives me a giggle every time I watch it …. and it’s a GREAT – “GOOD DAY” song!

They can’t all be good days….

                                                    … but we can at least aim high.

Today? A good day?

               …Yeah, why not???

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s a GOOD DAY, it’s a good day, Hooray, Hooray!!!

  1. btw- DID YOU NOTICE THE PART WHERE LEON GIVES HIMSELF WHIPLASH?
    FUNNY AS ALL HECK

  2. OMG that video is adorable! And the ODD sounds JUST like Corbin! I may need your help Oh Great Mother of All! 🙂

Leave a Reply

