Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

Proud Mama

When my 7-year-old, Leon, came home from school after a presentation given at his school about the St. Jude Children’s Hospital Math-a-thon, begging me for permission to do it, I felt very proud.

He told me that he wants to set his goal at $250, That’s when I got a bit suspicious..

I thought, “shoot!, he’s just in it for the prizes!”

So I got ready to give him a little talk about helping others and how important it is.

Before I had a chance to say anything, he started to give me the run down about the video they watched in school about St. Jude’s.

Here it is as told by Leon (speed up the pace as you read for the full affect);

iCarly made a movie about the Mathathon with the Numerators, they are super heros! We need to help the kids that go there because they are really really sick. And they lose all their hair when they get the medicine. And the money can buy DVD players for them so they can get distracted from the pain. And it does not feel like a real hospital because they get toys and can watch videos all the time. So can I do it, can I?

Of course I said yes and said “so it isn’t just because you just want to win a prize?”

He answered; “weeeeeell I could say it’s because I want to earn a cool prize, but it’s also because I can help kids who are …really, really sick, mom.”, “….but I do want a prize too.”

…..”oh and mom, can I get a haircut?”

“why do you want a hair cut?” I asked knowing he wants long Jonas Brothers hair.

“well, I want to donate it to the ones that are bald….”

Awww, I LOVE THAT KID!!!!

So if you would like to help Leon on his quest please click this Sponsor Leon link.

Thank you very much!!

From: Leon Hi, My name is Leon, I am 7-years-old and I am participating in a St. Jude Math-A-Thon event. Math-A-Thon is a fun way to benefit the kids of St. Jude by obtaining sponsors from family and friends to work math problems. St. Jude is internationally recognized for its pioneering work in finding cures and saving children with cancer and other catastrophic diseases. Founded by late entertainer Danny Thomas and based in Memphis, Tennessee, St. Jude freely shares its discoveries with scientific and medical communities around the world. No family ever pays for treatments not covered by insurance, and families without insurance are never asked to pay. This is why St. Jude needs our help. You can help me reach my goal by clicking the link below to make an online credit card donation. If you do not wish to make an online donation but prefer to use a check, please contact me and let me know. I can make other arrangements with you to obtain your donation. Please click here to donate.

Oh and feel free to forward the link to anyone else you think would like to help!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Proud Mama

  1. Pingback: “I LOVE my Feral little child.” « Just call me Jiji

  2. WOW!!!
    Leon already has earned $180.00 for St. Jude Children’s Hospital!!! Thank you for your support. Leon is STILL looking for sponcers – if you would like to help please click the link in that post

Leave a Reply

