Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

What does your life smell like?… Have you passed the smell test?

I really enjoyed our church service this past Palm Sunday. In fact I was moved to tears.

Which isn’t completely unusual for me. I have gotten misty eyed before, quite often it’s the music that really envelopes me and touches me. 

Music has always moved me, both figuratively and literally. I always feel better and more energized when I am surrounded by good music. I often use music as a tool to get myself motivated. I love to sing along (when no one is around) and dance like a fool to it. You can bet if there is something I have to get done around the house and I am really serious about it, there will be music filling every room. 

 It’s no different at church, …well okay a little different. I don’t do the whole dancin like a fool part of it, but I do sing along. And I am no singer, not by a long shot, so I do tend to hold back a bit for the sake of others around me.

The music reaches into my heart and the lyrics I sing along with the rest of the church is like a prayer being sung out to the Lord.  Many times the message in the lyrics I see projected onto the overhead screens touch me so much that a tear may threaten to fall. And I always enjoy how it sets the tone for Pastor Steve’s sermon.

This past Sunday, however it was so much more than that….

We arrived late, which is better than not arriving at all, as was the case for the previous 3 weeks (we were away for one of the Sundays, and sick for the other two). After not going for 3 weeks in a row, it was a struggle to get Leon to co-operate on a Sunday morning and get out the door. But I was determined to go! I felt the NEED to go. I even gave in and let Leon go in his ratty sweatpants.

We dropped Leon off in the children’s group, and then walked into services just in time to sing along to a great song, “The Saving One” by Starfield. A few minutes into the song I realized that I wasn’t just singing along, I was singing out. It felt good right.

After a couple more songs the band cleared the stage, dancers in flowey, purple & white costumes took the stage. It was quite beautiful to watch.

Pastor Steve then began his sermon about Jesus’s Last Days & Worshiping in Jesus’ Honor  (John12:1-13).

Pastor Steve definitely has a way of making a story even more poignant. 

As I was listening to his sermon. I noticed that every once in a while I would take the collar of my shirt to my nose to sniff it. I kept thinking that really pleasant smell I was smelling must be the new dryer sheets we were using. Every once in a while I would get a whiff again, Mmm what a really great smell! It wasn’t too long that I realized it wasn’t me.

Was someone near me putting hand cream on or something? Then it dawned on me it was all around me. Was it the church? Was it being piped in through the vents? I couldn’t ask Ron, he no longer has a sence of smell. He lost it when he fractured his skull 10 years ago.

I decided, whatever it was, it was perfect. It fit so naturally into the sermon.

“Six days before the Passover, Jesus arrived at Bethany, where Lazarus lived, whom Jesus had raised from the dead. Here a dinner was given in Jesus’ honor. Martha served, while Lazerus was among those reclining at the table with him. Then Mary took about a pint of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of perfume.” John 12:1-3

(Pastor Steve later gave it away, by letting us all know that, what we were smelling was several Glade Plug-ins purchased at BJ’s )  😛

He discussed, True Worship.  

And through out the sermon I felt a strong need to share this with a friend (one in particular).

“But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him” 2 Cor.2:14

Pastor Steve often says you are here for a reason, and on this day, I really felt it. When in prayer he called anyone who wished to have a personal relationship with Jesus’ to raise their hand, mine went up, and tears came down.

I accepted Jesus into my heart long ago, but today I felt the need to re-establish that.

Most of you who know me well, know that this isn’t necessarily like me. To quote the Bible (after all I really do not know it well enough) or to publicly declare my beliefs; or more specifically open them up for discussion. I have always held that my relationship with my personal Savior is between me and Him.

In general I do not like to openly discuss religion or politics, it gets messy, and I am still just trying to find my own way. That’s just me.

But on Sunday, throughout the sermon, I just felt so strongly about it and so moved by the whole experience: the music, the dancing, the fragrance, and the message itself, (I even took notes knowing I wanted to blog about it later), I knew that I wanted to share this with everyone.

So here it is!

Have a HAPPY and JOYOUS EASTER everyone!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

