Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

To All My Favorite M.O.M.M.’s

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all my favorite M.O.M.M.’s 

You are all; 

  • Makers
  • Of
  • Miracles and
  • Memories

You are all Super Women; who have touched me, taught me, inspired me, and helped to shape who I have been, who I am, and who I will become as a girl, a daughter, a woman, a friend, a wife, a mother and as a person! 

I dedicate this page to you; 

 

 

From SuburbanPediatrics.org : 

Attention “Super-Moms” It’s O.K. to…

 

Often, as parents we are tired! Frazzled by never-ending obligations, we sometimes neglect to fully engage with our kids. Try to enjoy the little parenting moments as they happen. 

  • It’s OK to have a messy house sometimes.
  • It’s OK to get a sitter and go out.
  • It’s OK to stay home with the kids — watch a movie or play a game!
  • It’s OK to make cookies this year from frozen Pillsbury dough instead of homemade.
  • It’s OK to sit in the warm car at the park while you watch your older kids go sledding.
  • It’s OK to re-gift — its green!
  • It’s OK to give your kids less gifts … they will appreciate them more.
  • It’s OK to say NO without giving a reason!
  • It’s OK to order pizza 3 times this week because life is busy — and the kids will actually eat it!
  • It’s OK to go to a party with baby spit-up on your shoulder and down your back.
  • It’s OK to let the kids have a little extra TV, computer or game time if it helps keep you sane.
  • It’s OK to let go of the parenting guilt! We all do our best.
  • It’s OK to not be perfect!

  

 

From The Unemployed Mom Blog

What Does A SAHM Do?

by The Unemployed Mom on 06/10/09 at 3:32 pm I find it amusing that some people think a Stay At Home Mom (SAHM) does nothing all day long. While we may not have a written job description, we do have a very important obligation which is taking care of our children. My blog title “The Unemployed Mom” is a complete oxymoron, which is typically why I receive laughs when people hear it. Anyway, I wanted to share a few thoughts about being a SAHM and let people know more about what we do. 

  1.  Being a SAHM doesn’t start at 8 am and end at 5 pm like a typical job. Our children dictate when our day begins and when it ends.
  2. Overtime occurs regularly, yet we do not get paid time and a half. We are compensated with hugs and kisses which is far more rewarding. Of course, we do receive our share of unpleasant compensation too (diaper blowouts, fussy kids, food spills, bathroom blunders, wet beds, tantrums, etc.).
  3. We do not receive vacation or sick time and must fulfill our duties 24/7, 365 days a year! No, we do not get weekends off either!
  4. We have a big responsibility which is trying to set the right example for our children and being the perfect role model. This can be challenging at times if we are frustrated or dealing with real world issues.
  5. A SAHM has mastered the art of multi-tasking! We are able to focus on many things at once but still keep our child’s safety and interests at the top of the list!
  6. We do not have one whining boss to answer to, we have our significant other AND our children!
  7. A SAHM is also a teacher, day care provider, guidance counselor, taxi driver, photographer, CEO, nutritionist, chef, laundry attendant, maid, accountant, janitor, entertainer, nurse, party planner, personal stylist, administrative assistant and a baker. Keep in mind, we are not compensated…but imagine what our salary SHOULD be with these responsibilities!
  8. We are extremely flexible! Our goal may be to complete our to-do list; however, our children dictate what our day actually consists of. Some days are extremely laid back while others are complete chaos. We must “go with the flow” and make the best of it, even if that means not accomplishing what we planned to.
  9. Being a SAHM is exhausting, there is never a dull moment! Some evenings, I am ready to fall asleep before my toddler goes to bed!
  10. We love our children dearly; however, staying home with a fussy or sick child can be draining! We do need a break once in a while, even if it is just to take a quiet walk alone to clear our minds. When our significant other arrives home, we do not need to hear “why do you need a break, you stay home all day”!  I challenge any person who asks this infuriating question to stay home alone with their child for just one day…I am pretty confident they will beg to return to their regular job!

I have held a variety of professional positions and being a SAHM is by far the job I am most proud of (and as mentioned above, it is one of the most exhausting)! My child is only little once and I feel blessed to share every single day with him. 

 The next time someone says a SAHM doesn’t do much, please direct them to this blog! 

FROM Mom.Salary.com 

If paid, the typical Stay-at-Home Mom in Hicksville, NY would earn the pay shown below for her work as a mother.

 Earning Statement  
For the year ending: May 2010
Job title Hourly Rate Hours worked
Housekeeper $11.10 728
Cook $14.73 364
Day Care Center Teacher $14.73 1,040
Facilities Manager $35.13 520
Computer Operator $17.15 624
Van Driver $16.72 364
Psychologist $42.12 624
Janitor $10.89 416
Laundry Machine Operator $11.16 0
Chief Executive Officer $56.63 260
Staff Nurse – RN $31.66 208
Event Planner $29.30 312
Nutritionist $25.95 208
Logistics Analyst $24.85 364
Interior Designer $20.78 156
Bookkeeper $18.91 104
Administrative Assistant $18.52 208
Plumber $18.19 0
General Maintenance Worker $15.56 208
Groundskeeper $13.86 52
Total Value
Regular Hourly Rate $22.56 2,080 $46,934
Over Time Rate $33.85 4,680 $158,402

$205,336

WHAT I OWE MY MOTHER
(Momisms)

My mother taught me TO APPRECIATE A JOB WELL DONE.If you’re going to kill each other, do it  outside.  I just finished cleaning.” 

My mother  taught me RELIGION. 
You better pray that will come out of the carpet.”

 My mother taught me about TIME TRAVEL. “If you don’t straighten up, I’m going to knock you into the middle of next week!”

My  mother taught me LOGIC.  
Because I said so, that’s  why.”

My mother taught me MORE  LOGIC. 
If you fall out of that swing and break your  neck, you’re not going to the store with me.”

My mother taught me FORESIGHT.  
Make sure you wear clean underwear in case you’re in an accident.”

My  mother taught me IRONY.  
Keep crying, and I’ll give you something to cry about.”

My mother taught me about the science of OSMOSIS.  
Shut your mouth and eat your supper.”

My mother taught me about CONTORTIONISM.  
Will you look at that dirt on the back of your neck!”

My mother taught me about STAMINA.    
You’ll sit there until all that spinach is gone.”

My mother taught me about WEATHER.    
This room of yours looks as if a tornado went through it.”

My mother taught me about  HYPOCRISY.   
 “If I told you once, I’ve told you a million times. Don’t exaggerate!”

My mother taught me the CIRCLE OF LIFE. 
“I brought you into this world, and I can take you out.”

My mother taught me about ANTICIPATION. 
Just wait until we get home.”

My mother taught me MEDICAL SCIENCE. 
If you don’t stop crossing  your eyes, they are going to freeze that way.”

My mother taught me HUMOR. 
When that lawn mower cuts off your toes, don’t come running to me.”

My mother taught me GENETICS. 
You’re just like your father.”

My mother taught me about my ROOTS. 
Shut  that door behind you.  Do you think you were born in a barn?”

My mother taught me WISDOM. 
When you get to be my age, you’ll understand.”

My Mother taught me ESP. 
“Put your sweater on; don’t you think that I know when you’re cold?”

My Mother taught me TO MEET A CHALLENGE. 
“What were you thinking?  Answer me when I talk to you… Don’t talk back to me!”

MY Mother taught me PATIENCE.  
“Sure, you can do that. As soon as you’re 21 and leave the house!”

My Mother taught me DIPLOMACY. 
“I don’t want to hear who started it, It takes two to fight.”

My Mother taught me SHARING. 
“Play nicely with that or I’ll just take it away from both of you.”

My Mother taught me ETIQUETTE.  
“Use your fork! If I see that hand on the table again, I’ll slap it!”

My mother taught me about ENVY.
“There are millions of less fortunate children in this world who don’t have wonderful parents like you do.”

My mother taught me about RECEIVING.
“You are going to get it when you get home!”

My mother taught me TO THINK AHEAD. 
“If you don’t pass your spelling test, you’ll never get a good job!”

My mother taught me HOW TO BECOME AN ADULT.
“If you don’t eat your vegetables, you’ll never grow up.”

My mother taught  me about JUSTICE. 
One day you’ll have kids and I hope they turn out just like you!”

But most of all, my mother taught me LOVE. 
“You know that whatever you do or whatever happens, I’ll always stand behind you, no matter what; because I love you.”

-Unknown

Dedicated to; Erika Fitzgerald, Jeanette Fitzgerald, Kathi Buss, Celia Vera, Jennifer Fitzgerald, Sheila Streng, Anne Oldfield,  Heather Hodkinson, Ana Thompson, Donna Ganiaris, Gerri Lima, Allison Schaefer, Kim Baitz, Angela Kobetitsch, Lynne Wiltse, Penny Williams, and so many other moms who have touched my life in one way or another.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “To All My Favorite M.O.M.M.’s

  1. Aunt Kathi on said:

    Having watched you grow from a sweet little girl into the nurturing, fabulous mom that you are, I am so proud of you. This Mother’s Day tribute is just beautiful! Thank you for paying tribute to all of us stay at home mom’s who only sit around all day and eat bon-bons and watch soap operas! (NOT!) Yes, I was a stay at home mom (so many moons ago and now I’m a stay at home Grandma!) I will always cherish the role of SAHM because it gave me the opportunity of not only taking care of my own kids, but also having fabulous summers every year with my two little nieces from NY who came to stay with us in Oregon. Those were the good old days, lots of happy memories of those summers! Pickup rides down bumpy country roads in the back of Uncle John’s truck, whip cream fights in the backyard, camping trips, I wouldn’t have missed those times for the world! I love you tons, thanks for being the amazing mom you are. I know your Dad is smiling down from heaven and is as proud of you as I am.

  2. Lynn on said:

    Hey you! I’m just now getting to check up on you and what do I find? Myself in tears at my desk! What a sweet little Mother’s Day thing you put together and then to see my name at the end? You’re so amazing and I’m so glad our pathes crossed. You honestly inspire me more than you’ll ever know. We need to plan a Disney trip soon and enjoy being mommies! 🙂

    PS – I got the disk in the mail but haven’t had time to check it out. I can’t wait to look at all the pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

