Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

Gettin’ my Creative Juices Flowin’

I have often heard;

“you are so talented, you should start a business”.

That would be WONDERFUL, I’d love to do that.

The question is; how? I have no business sense and the coin purse is empty. And you know the old adage; it takes money to make money.

And then, there is the lack of confidence in my talents

It’s not that I do not believe that I have any talent, it’s just that I feel there are people out there that are so much more talented than myself.

It doesn’t stop me from enjoying the creative process though. And sometimes I even impress myself with the outcome 🙂

My creative talents have included:

Drawing – it’s been a while, I did a lot of drawing as a child and in my teens. I have only recently taken it up again. I even tried some creative drawing on the computer to make some matching t-shirts for our trip to Disney;

Trip Planning – YES I definitely consider trip planning a creative talent!! And I do it well, especially when traveling with a highly sensory child with ADHD/ODD. Accommodations for travel require quite a bit of creativity. Like the badge I made for him to wear that clearly outlined the rules with a visual prompt.

Badge that "MICKEY" sent to Leon

Event Planning – like my DIY wedding where I made everything from the centerpieces to the floral arch to the ring box to the 150 hand-painted Champaign glasses I made to give as wedding favors to each of my guests.

The wedding arch

Close up

One of my centerpieces and a set of hand-painted champaign glass favors

Enough people told me that I should go into business selling my Glass Painting that I decided to give it a try.  I successfully sold a few pieces but in the end I wasn’t making enough money to cover the time, effort, and money it took to not only paint each piece , but then to pack everything up and transport them to a little craft fair, where I paid $60 for a table, only to sell a couple of pieces that maybe made me $40, and then have to pack it all back up and bring it back home. It just didn’t pay.

I also have helped to plan a few showers, my sister’s wedding, and quite a few themed birthday parties for kids. I love doing it. Especially the themey stuff

I was very proud of the School Bus cake I made on Leon's 1st Day of School

Leon’s 2nd Thomas Birthday Party  – he didn’t know how much I put into this party but I had fun doing it

I made one cake for the adults and little individual ones for each child

Leon’s 5th Pirate Birthday Party – yes my spoiled little child had 3 parties and 3 cakes

I hand-painted this shark to use as a game, it was fun as a photo prop too!

Leon’s 8th Lego Birthday Party;- this was a really fun party!

Lego Mini Marshmellow heads - real easy to make

Kiera’s 1st Ladybug Birthday

Ladybug Themed tutu I made for Kiera's 1st birthday

If I knew how, I would love to make money as an event planner.

Photography  – …is another talent I have. More specifically I have an eye for. Ron, often tells people that I am a photographer, and it bugs me, because I am SO NOT a photographer. I WISH I was, but at best I am a photo enthusiast. The difference being that although I thoroughly enjoy photography, and have an eye for capturing great shots; I pretty much have no education in photography at all.

I can really relate to the guy in this Panasonic Lumix commercial:

..see it’s not me,  it’s my camera! (which btw is a Canon)

…plus some creative digital photo editing too.

Basically I am just winging it.

When Leon was born, my love for photography grew, and my need to share it grew too. I started showcasing my photos on my smugmug website for all my friends and family to see.

First time using a spoon

(btw -gardening is NOT one of my talents)

As a result I was asked by two different sets of friends to photograph their weddings. Of course I said yes, it was an honor to be asked. I never expected to be paid, but when one of the couples thanked me with $1000.oo check , it gave me the confidence to try to make some money doing what I loved.

I got a few jobs and made some money, but most of my jobs were for friends and I had a hard time charging them, so that didn’t last too long. I also  needed better equipment in order for my photography to live up to my own standards.

In general I don’t know that I am so much talented as I am creative and crafty

And recently I have been inspired to try a new craft;

I was honored when my sister -in-law asked me if I could make a few things for her wedding. She pointed me in the direction of Etsy.com where she had seen a few things she had really liked. I was already familiar with Etsy, but I had never really perused the wedding category. One of the things she had pointed out to me, started to get my creative juices flowin again. It was something that I have tried my hand at before, but I didn’t really feel that there was a big demand for it. But with the trend of weddings being a bit more green, the rustic look of woodburning seems to have become a bit more popular.

Woodburning – is now a talent I am trying to cultivate. And I am really enjoying it. And who knows maybe I can even sell a few pieces on Etsy….

This is just a practice piece - but it gives you an idea of what I am going for

Besides what else is there for this SAHM to do?…uh, besides taking care of an ADHD child, managing my Fibro, keeping track of $800/month medicines, PTA volunteering, School Newspaper editor and author, caring for my 3 year old niece, plan playdates, etc.., etc…, etc…                            …oh yeah and maintain this blog.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Gettin’ my Creative Juices Flowin’

  1. Pingback: I Gots Skills « Just call me Jiji

  2. Wow, you definitely have a variety of talents! And you know what they say about starting businesses; diversify, diversify, diversify! (Or was that “location, location, location”??)

    Anyway, you obviously have a knack for so many things, but I’m in your same boat. It’s hard to start a business, especially with so many other things going on, called “life.” That, and figuring out just how to do it. Etsy is a great place to start, for sure. Artfire is another site you can use to try to sell your wood burnings.

    In my experience, these are the rules I’ve had to adhere to… 1) Keep trying. Never give up. 2) Be patient. 3) Be proud of what you do.

    I guess that’s all I have for now. I’m a pyrographer as well, and if you ever wanted some tips or tricks with this craft, check out my blog or hit me up. I also have a website that has more of my work on it: http://northwoodsart.synthasite.com/

    Thanks, and keep doing what you do!

    • Thank you so much for your comments. Your art is amazing!! I love the wolves!!!
      I’ve never seen feather painting before, it’s beautiful.
      With your talents you are sure to be successful.
      I only just started pyrography a couple of weeks ago. Any tips you could pass on would be greatly appreciated!
      And thanks for checking out my blog!

  3. Ana T. on said:

    Being talented, which you definitely are, has nothing to do with being able to sell your talent, just look around and see how many untalented people are making a bundle with nothing but sh***y stuff… The problem is the lack of confidence which makes you a poor seller of yourself, so just go for it! It’s true you need money to make make , but the initial investment in Etsy e.g. is quite modest…

    Just look at sales as a new hobby/passion and you’ll do a great job as with everything else. And remember even if there’s someone more talented selling nicer stuff (not really) there are for sure A LOT more untalented ones and they are selling, so why wouldn’t you???!

  4. You are an amazingly creative and talented person! I’ll be the “brains” and you be the “talent” since I have none. Keep doing things that you love if you’re making money at it or not.

Leave a Reply

