Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

I Gots Skills

In a previous post; Gettin’ my Creative Juices Flowin’ I wrote about my various talents, and things I have tried my hand at, with the latest thing being wood burning.

I recently took up wood burning for the sake of my sister, Suzy. She is getting married in May, and asked me to use my creativity to make a few things for her. She had some basic ideas of what she was looking for and showed me a few pictures of things she had seen on Etsy.com. But she pretty much gave me carte blanc to come up with my own vision of things. I toured Etsy, which by the way is now my favorite artsy-fartsy site, and I found inspiration and ideas all over the place.

My self-imposed deadline was this past Sunday for her Bridal Shower. I managed to get everything done that I had wanted to (thanks to a few 3am bedtime). As usual I pushed myself to accomplish a bit more than necessary. It was important for me to put so much into it because I want Suzy to know how much she means to me. She may be Ron’s sister by birth, but I have known her since she was 15 years old, and I have watched her grow into an amazing young woman that I am proud to call her my sister too.

It was her intent to reimburse me for any purchases I needed to make for these creations. But I refuse to accept any reimbursement, I want to make this my gift to her (and Eddie) from one sister to another.

I am so happy for the both of them. And I wish them the best that life and marriage has to offer them.

As a result of her asking me to do this; she has unknowingly given me a gift as well. Because of her, my enjoyment of; and desire to; create art, has once again been rekindled. I find myself sketching new ideas and getting inspiration from the things around me. I have really enjoyed being creative again.

I am also pretty proud of the outcome on most of what I have made. I wanted to give her options so I made different versions of the items she wanted for variety.

These are the his and her hangers she had asked for. She really only asked that I somehow write the word Bride and Groom on these hangers that she provided to me. I wanted to give her the option of dressing them up with the flower I had made using two other flowers and Swarofski Crystals and the bow tie I fashioned with cardboard and black ribbon after I simply woodburned the hangers;

Bride Hanger - wedding dress photo prop

Bride & Groom Hangers – wedding attire photo

Another item that she had asked me to make was a cake topper. She had seen my very first attempt at wood burning a tree design and had decided that she had wanted it as her cake topper. Since it was my very first attempt, and I wasn’t happy with all the mistakes I had made I refused to let her have it. Not only was it a scrap copy it was also on scrap wood. This is the initial piece she had seen;

It was the smaller one she was interested in using, but I really did not like how it came out. I was also concerned with how 1 dimensional it would be.I made a new one similar to this on a better piece of wood; I liked the way it came out;

The heart can be personalized with the couples initials or the date.

And although I am pleased with the art, it just seems so flat for a cake topper. So I came up with the bright idea that I would have to make a woodcarving of a tree to make it more 3-dimensional. Yes, I did say wood carving. Here are 2 I managed to make without nicking a major artery in the process.

This second one is left plain in case she prefers a lighter color;

The tops of the trees are interchangeable. Personally I like the balls on the top, but the tree slice can be further personalized. Perhaps with a simple scroll design, green leaves, or their names in a heart in the upper portion and the year in the smaller heart on the tree trunk. Suzy also asked me to make Mr. & Mrs chair signs.  These are similar to ones I have seen on Etsy;

I managed to come across these really great baskets and I loved the idea that I could make the chair signs and then they could repurpose them as his and hers letter sorter;

I burned the wooden letters and adhered them to the baskets, I wanted to get dried lavender stalks but I didn’t have enough time, so I used silks instead;

I also am going to make a signature mat for them. Suzy order a tree slice for me to do it on. But just for practice i made these;

And I did this second one too;

Which I am very proud of. I took inspiration from the wedding invitation. I decided to turn this into a cute sign for them;

No that isn’t a misspelling, their last name is/will be Mora.I also made these;

And the wishing well for the shower too;

But my favorite is this;

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I Gots Skills

  1. Lynn on said:

    Jill that’s all so amazing!! I wish I had the time and talent to do something like that. It’s great that you’re able to help your sister with these things for her wedding. I know she’ll appreciate them very much. I wish I’d have known you when I got married…

Leave a Reply

