Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

Recycle -old clothes, old toys, old posts….

Well I haven’t done much writing of late, although I have slowed down enough that I in effect should have plenty of time to do it. My Fibro has gotten so it is just too debilitating and I really need to cut down on the things that have been too draining on me. Caring for my niece is one of those things so instead of watching her 4-5 days a week I have cut down to 3-4 days. Woo Hoo, now maybe I can find my way out of the maze of mountain like piles of stuff that seem to be growing at an alarming rate here in my house. It’s cluttering up my house and my life and it is time to let go of it.

Rather than throw things that still have plenty of good use still in them, I rather recycle, repurpose, or donate them.  The Kids Kloset Consignment Sale is a terrific way of accomplishing that.,

A few years ago I wrote an article about my experience with them, and in the spirit of recycling I am gong to recycle that old post right here, right now….

ENJOY!

Cleaning my Plate / Decluttering my Life…     

                                                        …same thing.     

     

There are plenty of different ways to do this.     

Quite often the clutter just gets so big that you don’t know where to start. Turns out it doesn’t matter where you start, only that you actually do start.     

Me, I started with all those baby items that I kept in the hopes of a baby # 2. Alas, my dream of having a Brady Bunch Family is not meant to be.     

Although with all the babysitting I do it sometimes feels like the Brady Bunch household. :)      

Every year, since April of 2008 I have been consigning all of Leon’s clothes, toys, and other items with The Kids Kloset. Consigning is a terrific way to get rid of your clutter and make some money while doing it! And Gail Roca, the owner of The Kids Kloset makes it very easy. The process is simple; once you register as a consignor on the website you will get a consignor number and gain access to the consignment manager, where you can enter information about the item you want to sell, as well as name your price, and then print out your bar coded tags to be attached to your items. This is only one aspect of the preprep process; it is important to thoroughly check all your items for stains, missing parts or defects; only the best will do. Each piece of clothing you consign is to be on a hanger and sorted by size. It is a lot of work but completely worth it. I have made as low as $300 and as high as $650 at sales. The amount you make depends on if you volunteer at the sale or not, and for how long. At minimum you can earn 60% of your sales if you do not volunteer to work the sale and as much as 75% if you do. I always choose to volunteer for 12 hours in order to gain the maximum earning level of 75% of my sales. And like I said Gail always makes it so easy, she gives her consigners options and incentives. Like allowing me to drag Ron into it, where we both put in 6 hours to complete our 12 hour volunteer time slot. Some how we both end up putting in much, much more than our 12 hours though, probably because there is just something about Gail and what she has created here that makes you want to chip in and be a part of it. She is always coming up with new ways to make the sale great. The sale has always been about recycle, reuse, and resell; she was green before green was popular. And this year she came up with something new to get the kids involved. And I have to say it worked like a charm on Leon. Consignors were invited to sign their children up as consignors as well, earning their own consignor numbers. The incentive for the children was “Sell your old toys and earn your own money while helping out the environment”. As a bonus the kids relieved a $5 gift certificate to purchase items at the sale and a certificate stating that the helped the enviroment. Leon is always hesitant to part with his toys, even the ones he hasn’t touched in over a year or so. When asked if I could sell them previously, he would say they are part of his “collection”. However once he signed up to consign, it was a different story, he was willing to part with things that he never would have let me sell before. We of course had our own set of rules about the sale too; such as, the money he made would only be given to him on July 25th once our vacation began as pocket-money, and that Ron and I had the veto vote on purchases we felt were inappropriate. He gladly went along with it already deciding on what he wanted to spend his money on. After parting with all but a few Thomas trains and track, his Pixar cars, and various other toys; he was on cloud nine when he received his very first paycheck in his own name to the tune of $264. He was a little disappointed that he fell short of his $400 goal in order to buy the Lego Death Star at Legoland in California, but he wasn’t surprised either because we prepared him for that outcome. It never stops him from reaching for the stars though! I myself made close to that amount as well. Now we have spending money for our trip.     

The Kids Kloset isn’t just good for selling things, it’s also amazing for purchasing incredibly inexpensive previously owned and sometimes new items with tags still on them. As I do every year I picked up a few great items at a fraction of the cost. Being that Leon is such an avid reader my favorite section is the books, and then of course it is the toys (but that’s because I am just a big ol kid myself).  I managed to pick up about 30 chapter books for under $15, as well as a few miscellaneous items.     

And the bonus to all this decluttering is that we were able to turn Leon’s room from this

     

     

     

To This

     

Now the challenge is to keep it this way! Well that, and getting the rest of the house to look this way too.     

So far, we’ve done a really good job of keeping it this way and the rest of the house has come along nicely. And even if I can’t always keep up with it, I make sure that the areas most important to Leon, are as clutter free as possible. Like his room, the kitchen table where he does his homework, and the computer room where he plays video games with playdates.  I really, really feel it makes a huge difference in Leon’s life. His ADHD brain is already too cluttered enough, no reason to let everything else around him get too cluttered.     

(the original post can be found here)

Oh and FYI Leon did get his Lego Deathstar after all.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Recycle -old clothes, old toys, old posts….

  1. Pingback: How to Set Up a Rummage Sale « Chopstick Lady

  2. Jill what a WONDERFUL piece!!!

Leave a Reply

