Just call me Jiji

…me, just pretending to be me ….now, where did I put that cape??

Today’s To Do’s

Find Christmas Lights and put them up

Get started on making the house more festive

Make a visible dent in the computer room (desk top and file cabinets)

Blog a bit

Put paperwork in order for Special Ed Meetings

Write note to teacher re: Leon’s checklists

Make returns to stores

Be happy with what I have accomplished today, and start again tomorrow.

 

 

I have so much I need to do. So, so much. So much that I have just been tripping myself up just thinking about it all the time.

This year has not been kind to me (that post is coming soon). It’s as if my life was involved in a 10  car pileup. One thing went wrong, then another, and another, and another, and so on. And detangling it all is a mess in itself. I would get so over whelmed with the enormity of it, that I would feel road-blocked and paralyzed to do anything. I just never knew where to start. Anything that I did start would be dependant on something else getting done first, and getting that done would also depend on another thing happening and so on and so on. I just did not know where to start.  So in the end I mostly ended up doing nothing and the pile-up would just keep getting bigger and bigger and bigger and so on. And there I was trapped somewhere in the middle of it all just getting more and more depressed over what a failure I am as a wife and mother and even at taking care of myself.

I’ve always been a list maker, and that has usually worked for me. But this year somewhere along the line I lost my way. I would get stuck on making the list and never actually get to the work truth was the lists wouldn’t be made up of 4 or 5 things to get done it would be 4 or 5 pages of things I still haven’t done. Eventually I just stopped making the lists all together, again because of the enormity of it all. I felt like I was failing at life.

At some point you can either give in and become a hoarder or you have to get a plan to get things done.

I had a plan to get a plan. But I  wasn’t sure what that plan was yet or even where to look.

I finally found one I want to give a go at, in a hot tub, at the base of Hunter Mountain, just a few weeks ago.

I was enjoying a soak in the tub with a few friends and a few drinks during my brother-in-law’s wedding weekend in the Catskills. We got to catch up with friends we hadn’t spent time with in a long time. The wedding was a blast and I walked away from that weekend with a new plan.

Melissa is the one who told me about a book I should look into. I was drunk that night so by morning the details were a bit hazy. But what I pieced together from our conversation was that it had something something something to do with seven somethings or other, in which you decide who you are, and who you want to be, and what you want to accomplish and then you assign a priority or a percentage of your time to it or something like that, …I think?

It went something like, what percentage of who I am is a wife, a mother, a blogger, PTA volunteer, crafter, etc… and then assign a percentage of your time to that part of you and work on a little bit of each part of who I am each day. So like if I am 50% homemaker and 25% crafter and 10% blogger, the time I give to each of those things should be divided accordingly. This way I can start making a dent by freeing myself up a little bit more each day in all the parts of my world that are important to me, including the parts that wants to do more than just clean house and chase after what I haven’t gotten to yet.

I was drunk at the time, so I could have gotten it all wrong but I did get something out of it that makes sense to me. At the time I thought she was referring to this book which I had read about previously (but I never actually read the book itself), and I had already put it on my universal wishlist.  I later learned via a Facebook convo with her that she actually meant this book, which also looks like a good read. I haven’t read either book as of yet, but they are both on my wishlist now and I do plan to read them when the avid reader in me jumps up to a higher priority in my life.

So while I am not following any specific magic formula as of yet on how to get things done, I was inspired by what I had learned from my friend to come up with a plan I could actually follow. For this plan I need to set priorities and assign a specific amount of time in my day to each of these priorities. And just get done what I can in the amount of time I give myself. And I also need to allow myself to be happy with what I have accomplished for the day and not wallow in the muck of what I still have to do, there is always tomorrow.

So, Melissa, if you are reading this, thanks for the info, and the kick in the pants to getting things done.

Now excuse me while I go look for the Christmas lights.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Today’s To Do’s

  1. Good job for taking baby steps to make something happen. I’m so excited about this pregnancy but it’s been rough from day 1 and I haven’t been able to dig out of the hole. I hope I have the strength, courage and sense that you have to start getting some things done before I’m even more overwhelmed. Hugs to you!

  2. Smile 🙂 I was here! xoxo Sheila

  3. Jill,
    It never ceases to amaze me how much alike we are! We think SO much alike. I’m a total list maker, I get down on myself way too much, I struggle to manage my time also. My only advantage I have over you is AGE! After all these years I have adopted the “Fall back and punt” approach or, to put it another way, the “OH WELL” philosophy. If I get something accomplished, I praise myself. If I don’t (because something ALWAYS comes along to mess up my best laid plans) I now just say (out loud)….”OH WELL”! I find that giving myself permission go with the flow on a bad day, helps to free me up on “Good Days”. Because we are “achievers”, it kills us when we are fuzzy headed or in pain and not able to achieve. Be kind to yourself, no beating yourself up, and low and behold, when the fog clears you’ll pull it all back together again and get back on track. Until then…..OH WELL!
    Aunt Kathi

Leave a Reply

